City of Glass by Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments #3)

51J6khDu3oL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Original title: City of Glass
Year published: 2009
Published by: Walker Books
Number of pages: 492
First sentence: “The cold snap of the previous week was over; the sun was shining brightly as Clary hurried across Luke’s dusty front yard, the hood of her jacket up to keep her hair from blowing across her face.”

 Plot: To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?
(From Goodreads)

 

My thoughts: First of all this review should have been up over 2 months ago, sorry about that. It’s just that after reading this I didn’t know what to do with myself. I guess there very too many feelings involved or something.

After reading the first two books in the series I was definitely already sold on the story and the characters, but there’d been something missing, they needed something else to earn that fifth star. With this book I got that. I have no idea what it actually was though. After reading this book I kind of felt like I did when I walked out of the movie theater after watching Battle of the Five Armies. I told my boyfriend “straight in the soul” or something like that, I can’t remember exactly what I said since I was crying but the bottom line was that I’d felt something. Something painful, and also a whole helluva lot of rage. In this book I was mad at basically everyone. I was mad at Jocelyn for coming back right when shit’s going down and acting like nothing happened. I’m mad at Jace for the way he acts towards Clary and even towards himself. I’m mad at Valentine because he’s Valentine. No, but, you get a lot of more background info in this book, about what happened when Jocelyn was pregnant with both of her kids and stuff like that. I’m mad at Sebastian because WHAT THE HELL! I mean I’d had this spoiled for me beforehand so I already knew who he was when he was first introduced but the characters didn’t and the stuff that went down was just too much. There were times when I wanted to throw the god damn book out the window. She’s really good at pissing people off that Cassandra Clare, haha. But even though I could kill Sebastian I’m crushing on him so bad. He’s like that psychotic bad boy with all the looks that you just can’t hate even when you should. Surprisingly, I’m not actually mad at Clary this time, sure she’s a naïve little brat but that’s not her fault. Her mother led her to believe that everything was normal so of course she won’t know what consequences her actions will have. Also in this book we get reacquainted with a certain character only for him to die. I wasn’t that mad about when I read it but now…DAMN IT! I mean a lot of people are bound to die in this book with Valentine’s crazy plans culminating and all that but still.

I love how Downworlders and Shadowhunters work together to save everyone from Valentine. I love Magnus Bane, he’s particularly sassy in this book, though I feel it’s going to get better in the next book.

In this book the kids finally learn the truth about who their parents are, and by kids I of course mean Jace. It had been bothering me a lot, him not knowing that Valentine wasn’t his father. Of course he almost goes and does something stupid before he learns this, he is Jace after all. Actually he almost does multiple stupid things, okay he actually does one stupid thing but you’ll have to read the book to find out what.

The book ends happy-ish. I mean they’re all going back to New York, Malec is happening, Luke and Jocelyn is happening, Clace is happening, people are dead, wait, are they really? Again with people being naïve. I have learned to not believe that someone is dead until I see a body, and not even then can I be certain they’re actually dead. I mean in books and movies here of course, I’m not some sort of crazy person. Or am I?

I had to take a pause from reading this series after the third book because I felt like I needed something else but now I feel like I’m ready to get back into the Shadowhunting world. City of Fallen Angels is up next!

Do I recommend it? HELL YES!

Leave a Reply

