Authors are people too!

Hi guys. So earlier today I needed some help with ideas for posts because I honestly couldn’t come up with anything to write. So originally I was gonna throw the idea of a monthly or weekly wrap up out there. But now I have something else to talk about. Because honestly I am so damn upset right now I can hardly type properly.

If you guys are active on Twitter or follow me on there you will probably have seen a lot of talk about the #AskELJames hasthtag. When thoughts about this first started showing up in my feed I didn’t know what was going on because I’d forgotten about the chat that was taking place this evening. So I went and checked out the hashtag and I was horrified, truly. People were asking these really insulting questions and saying these horrible things. And no, this is not going to be a post where I tell you guys how much I love Fifty Shades of Grey. I really did like the series but that’s not what this is about. This is about the fact that authors have feelings too!

Just because you may not like a book, like in this case, Fifty Shades of Grey, doesn’t mean that you can go and say all of these horrible things to the author of that book. How would you feel if you’d been working on something for years, you’ve given it your all, your tears and then someone comes and trashes YOU. Not your work, but YOU.

It doesn’t matter what the damn book is about or if you don’t agree with what is being done or said in it. The author still has bloody feelings! You may not like their book, in fact you may hate it, that’s fine, criticize the book, criticize the characters but don’t fucking criticize the author! This author has, hopefully, written something that they believe in, that they enjoyed writing. And guess what? Authors don’t write for YOU, they write for THEM. Or at least most of them do. So please, keep in mind that authors are people too, and people have feelings!

Of course I don’t mean that any of you guys do this but in the case that you do, please remember that people have feelings!

make-love-not-hate-3

That is all, Kayla

2 thoughts on “Authors are people too!

  1. I completely agree!! I personally tried 50 Shades and just couldn’t get into it. And that’s okay – there are so many, many books out there, there is something for everyone. No need to hate on an author just because it’s not your cuppa. As Wil Wheaton says, don’t be a dick.

    Like

    • Yes. It’s completely fine to not like every single book. I don’t like every single book either. Just treat people the way you yourself wanna be treated. Rule number one.

      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

