Grey by E.L. James (Fifty Shades #4)

GREYOriginal title: Grey
Year published: 2015
Published by: Arrow Books
Number of pages: 558
First sentence: “I have three cars.” 

Plot: Christian Grey exercises control in all things; his world is neat, disciplined, and utterly empty—until the day that Anastasia Steele falls into his office, in a tangle of shapely limbs and tumbling brown hair. He tries to forget her, but instead is swept up in a storm of emotion he cannot comprehend and cannot resist. Unlike any woman he has known before, shy, unworldly Ana seems to see right through him—past the business prodigy and the penthouse lifestyle to Christian’s cold, wounded heart.

Will being with Ana dispel the horrors of his childhood that haunt Christian every night? Or will his dark sexual desires, his compulsion to control, and the self-loathing that fills his soul drive this girl away and destroy the fragile hope she offers him?

My thoughts: I’m gonna be honest with you guys. I had a seriously hard time with this book at first. So much so that I wasn’t even sure that I could go on reading it. But I pushed through and about two thirds in it got better. I’m not saying that the first 350 pages were horrible, they weren’t. There were some good parts. My problem was being inside Christian’s mind. It’s a scary place to be and though I appreciated hearing his thoughts on Ana and everything the fact that he made every situation into some weird shit in his head bothered me. Like, I was seriously uncomfortable. I mean I was uncomfortable during certain scenes in the other Fifty Shades books as well but at least in those we get to know that Ana’s at least a bit scared. Christian? He’s enjoying it. He’s really enjoying it.

A recurring thought of mine in this books was: “You’re even more fucked up than I thought” and “Fifty shades? More like a gazillion”. But then there were also thoughts like this: “Aww babe” and “Marry me?” so I feel like this wasn’t really all bad. And I know that people will hate me for this but this book actually made me love Christian even more. Not the BDSM shit, no I can live without that. But you know how in the first book you think that Christian really doesn’t give a damn about Ana? That he just wants control? Well, in this book you get to see that that’s not really the case. Christian feels something for Ana way earlier than you think he does. But he’s so confused about it because he’s never known love like that. Sure he loves his family but there’s a difference between being in love and loving your family.

A recurring theme in this book is “darkness”. Darkness creeps in. Christian feels the darkness closing in on him when Ana touches him. Really you get a better idea of what Christian went through in his younger years, both with his birth mom, his new family and with Elena. About Elena. Ugh. I would like to slap that bitch black and blue and it sure as shit wouldn’t be for her pleasure.

I remember being annoyed by the whole “inner goddess” shit in the first three books. Here we get Christian’s dick. Yeah. He refers to his dick as if it were a person.

“When I open my eyes I’m wrapped around her, our limbs entwined. She’s regarding me with a tender smile. Her face is no longer blotchy and puffy; she looks radiant. My cock agrees, and stiffens in greeting.”

“My cock agrees, and stiffens in greeting.” Really? Ugh. This was even more annoying than Ana’s “inner goddess”. News flash. Your dick isn’t its own entity. It’s a part of you. It “stiffens in greeting” because your brain likes what it sees.

The last pages, after Ana leaves, are really painful. I mean like, I fucking cried. I felt both sorry for Christian and pissed at him at the same time. It was weird.

So basically I’m thoroughly confused by this book and my reactions toward it. But if you enjoyed the previous books in the series you should give it a try because you definitely learn stuff about Mr. Tall Dark and Handsome.

4 thoughts on “Grey by E.L. James (Fifty Shades #4)

Leave a Reply

