Bind Me Before You Go by Harper Kincaid

BindMeBeforeYouGoOriginal title: Bind Me Before You Go
Year published: 2015
Published by: Brazen/Entangled
Number of pages:
First sentence: “Cassidy Peyton  probably wouldn’t have been up for her roommate’s suggestion on a good day, but she especially wasn’t after an exhausting twenty-four hour shift at her new job as a social worker.”

Plot: Determined to put her past behind her, Cassidy Peyton moves to the Big Apple. But New York has a few dark secrets of its own, including Serve, an exclusive BDSM club. It’s a place she isn’t sure she’s ready for, until she sees him watching her. Hot. Intent. Knowing. With eyes that leave her stomach tied in knots, because the loneliness he’s trying to hide matches her own.

Security expert David Cavill has more secrets than any man should. Secrets that forever shut down any possibility of love, marriage, or family. Yet Cassidy draws him in, an intoxicating combination of strength, candor, and sensuality that David can’t resist. But as their bond deepens, Cassidy must decide if she can love a man whose heart is bound tighter than the form of bondage he craves…

My thoughts: I’m going to keep this short because the book was short and in all honesty I wasn’t all that blown away.

First off, the blurb kinda makes it sound like another Fifty Shades wannabe, am I right? It kinda is. David introduces Cassidy to this whole new lifestyle, insta-love, jealousy, family issues, dark pasts, assholery and all that jazz.

The difference here being that David practices another form of BDSM called Shibari (I think), which is a form of rope play. I don’t see how this could turn anybody on, but hey whatever floats your canoe. And yes I am realizing that all I’m really doing is comparing this to Fifty Shades and while that wasn’t really my intention you can’t really blame me can you?

Moving on. David is actually a really nice guy (I think). He has a troubled past stained with family illness and heartbreak so you can’t really blame him for choosing a path that’s about nothing more than sex involving rope. He’s charming, hot and he drives a motorcycle, what could possibly go wrong? And then there’s Cassidy. I am not really sure what to say about Cassidy except for that she too has a troubled past. You don’t really get to know much about or her but how much can you really get to know in a book this short?

I mentioned insta-love earlier in this review. I never really knew how much insta-love bothered me until recently and now I feel like throwing up every time it occurs in something I read – or watch for that matter. There’s this scene where- you know what, read the book because if I tell you about that scene I’ll spoil something.

Wow, okay this review is almost longer than the book so I’m gonna stop. I gave this here book 3 stars ‘cause that’s what I felt it deserved.

Bind Me Before You Go releases today, July 21st!

Leave a Reply

