Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Francis Bramble

BecomingDarknessOriginal title: Becoming Darkness
Year published: 2015
Published by: Switch Press
Number of pages: 496
First sentence: “You can see them in the background of photographs and motion pictures from before the war.”

Plot: Like everyone else living in Haven, seventeen-year-old Sophie Harkness is an Immune–a carrier of the genetic mutation that protects her from the virus Hitler unleashed upon the world more than half a century ago. A virus that wiped out most of humanity and turned two-hundred million people into vamps. But after her best friend is brutally murdered and several attempts are made on her own life, Sophie becomes determined to find answers to what seems to be a conspiracy running generations deep. And when she questions the peace treaty that keeps her small community protected, Sophie begins to discover terrible truths about herself and what it means to be human in a world ruled by darkness.

(From Goodreads)

 

My thoughts: OH MY GOD. Okay, so I’d been in the mood from some new vampire fiction and I found it. I love all things vampire so there was never any doubt as to whether or not I’d read this. But I found that it was so much more than that. Let’s get down to business shall we?

Basically this book is a mix of my two favorite things, paranormal and dystopia. Except is not really dystopia as it actually takes place in 2003. Up until World War Two the world was as we’ve always known it but somehow a virus was spread that turned most of the worlds population into vampires. Those don’t affected by the virus – the Immunes – were sent to a place called Haven. This is where we meet our leading lady, Sophie.

This book has got it all! Forbidden love, yummy goodness, a hot vampire guy, conspiracies, action. You name it, this has it!

There were twists. I mean twist, after twist, after twist. You never knew what was gonna happen next and on those rare occasions when you thought you had it all figured out something else twisted. It certainly kept me on my toes!

The writing is spectacular! I felt as if I were there or like I was watching a movie. It was amazing. It’s a really good story and it’s interesting to think about what the world would have been like today if things had gone differently during the war.

All I can really do is praise the hell out of this book because it sure deserves it! You guys should definitely read it!

Becoming Darkness releases on October 1st!

5 thoughts on “Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Francis Bramble

  1. Hi, Kayla,

    I’m glad you liked the book. By now you will have discovered that there are some seeds planted for a possible sequel, and I can tell you that I have completed the first of these and have about two thirds of the third (final) book completed (the completion is on hold while I work on a YA contemporary). I don’t want to give too much away with regard to the follow-up books, but suffice it to say that you haven’t seen the last of Val (I bet that’s really got the gears in your head grinding), that “No Haven for Darkness” (the novel mentioned in BECOMING DARKNESS) is instrumental in both books two and three, that there will be more of the Old Ones (of course), and that readers will get to see some of what it was like to live through the Fall (time travel that’s not quite time travel).

    I can’t thank you enough for taking the time to read my book and to also write about it. No words can adequately convey the pleasure it is as a writer to know that I have succeeded in entertaining you, and I hope to have the privilege of doing so again in the future. Your reaction to the novel makes all the lonely hours spent writing it truly worthwhile. Reading your review has certainly made my day.

    With warmest and sincerest regards,

    Lindsay Brambles

    Like

    • Hi! Thanks for stopping by to read my review. Nothing is better than when the author actually reads the review you’ve written 😉

      I am really looking forward to book 2 and 3. You have no idea how happy it makes me that I’ll see more of Val! I was nowhere near done with that particular vamp. That we’ll see more of the Old Ones only means that things don’t bode well for Sophie and Chloe I suppose, but then it did add to the feeling of impending doom so there’s something else to look forward too.

      YA contemporary you say? That sounds really interesting!

      I’ll be eagerly awaiting to read more from you!

      Like

  2. Pingback: BECOMING DARKNESS GIVEAWAY | Kayla's books

Leave a Reply

