The Play by Karina Halle

Original title: The PlayThe Play AMAZON (1)Year published: 2015
Published by: Metal Blonde Books
Number of pages: 432
First sentence: “It had started to snow the night before”

Plot: Kayla Moore has always been comfortable with her feisty, maneating reputation. At least it was fine until she hit her thirties and saw her best friends Stephanie and Nicola settle down with Linden and Bram McGregor, leaving Kayla to be the odd one out. Tired of being the third wheel with nothing but one-night stands and dead-end dates in San Francisco, Kayla decides to take a vow of celibacy and put men on the backburner.

That is until she lays her eyes on Linden and Bram’s cousin, hot Scot Lachlan McGregor. Lachlan is her sexual fantasy come to life – tall, tatted, and built like a Mack truck. With a steely gaze and successful rugby career back in Edinburgh, he’s the kind of man that makes her want to throw her vow right out the window. But Lachlan’s quiet and intense demeanor makes him a hard man to get to know, let alone get close to.

It isn’t until the two of them are thrown together one long, unforgettable night that Kayla realizes there is so much more to this brooding macho man than what meets the eye. But even with sparks flying between the two, Lachlan can’t stay in America forever. Now, Kayla has to decide whether to uproot her whole life and chance it all on someone she barely knows or risk getting burned once again.

Sometimes love is a game that just needs to be played.

 

My thoughts: *takes deep breath*

*and another*

*and another*

Okay, I’m still not over this god damn book. But, I’m gonna start off with a massive fucking thank you to Karina for writing this book! Actually thank you for writing books in general but for this in particular. I needed this. I’ve had some trouble reading lately and this brought me out of my slump, big time! I felt like I’d been waiting for this book forever so when it finally landed on my Kindle I only lasted a day before I started reading it. I’m in the middle of writing a huge ass paper for uni so really I don’t have the time to read but I did it anyway. So 24 hours later I was finished with the book and I was left feeling completely empty. So if this review turns into a major mess/sob fest I so apologize but this is what your books do to me and I’m still trying to recover. So here goes nothing.

I was hooked from the prologue where we get to know more about our leading man’s past. It was utterly heartbreaking and I knew that it was only going to get worse as I went along.

Karina has once again written an absolutely amazing piece of literature and I am just in awe of this woman and all her work! When I read this I felt as if I was there, in San Francisco and in Edinburgh. I could smell the old beer and the leather inside the Burgundy Lion and the dog drool and fur in Lachlan’s apartment, okay maybe that’s ‘cause I have a dog of my own but still. I could feel every emotion as if I was going through them myself. It felt as if it was me that Lachlan was – okay, let’s not go there. You get the picture. The thing is that this was in no way a surprise to me. Karina always does this, and I love it. But this time I felt as if she took it a step further.

I never really liked Kayla in The Offer, but I think that’s just because I never got to know her that well. Now, I LOVE Kayla. (And OMG it feels weird to write Kayla, it’s like I’m talking about myself in third person) I relate to her so much! Except I’m not quite as…. experienced as she is. I suffered so much with her in this book. My heart broke when hers did. I just feel Kayla on a deeper level and it’s not just because of the name.

cosima

Lachlan… Jeez, I don’t even know what to say about this man. I loved him. I hated him. He’s so fucking hot. Him and Kayla together are so fucking hot. I needed more than one cold shower. There were parts were I was so fucking mad at him that I wanted to throw my iPad through the window because he was so unbelievably fucking stupid. Jesus I’m swearing a lot. I blame Kayla, she’s got a really dirty mouth.

lip-bite

We kind of know all the other characters in this book already, Linden, Steph, Nicola, BRAM. There were some new additions with Kayla’s family and the Scottish people. Btw, am I the only one hoping for a Brigs novel? Can I be the leading lady? Pretty please…

I think that this book has the best sex in any of the Karina Halle books I’ve read SO FAR. I mean hoooooooot damn. *fans self*

My reaction after I’ve just finished the book was this: “You’ve fucking done it again Karina! In fact, I’m pretty sure you’ve outdone yourself. I never thought that any story could make me feel as much as Love, in English did or that any of your men could ever top Mateo or that any McGregor could top Bram. But damn! You did it!” And I fucking let it be known!

This book just left me with so many feels and I cried in such an ugly way. I should’ve filmed myself the last 5% of this book. There were a lot of “ no no no no” and “oh thank fucking fuck” because holy fuck what a rollercoaster ride.

crying

Some GIF’s that maybe makes me make more sense?

tumblr_mgn5zhLYfy1rwuhc7o1_400

whmb

tumblr_mnor4r6ioI1rkmb8to1_500

Castiel-me-gusta

This review is such a mess. If my words aren’t enough to sway you, keep in mind that for the duration of this week the book is only $2.99 and $1 of those goes to help dogs who need it. So of not for a steamy amazing read then do it for the pups ❤

Leave a Reply

