Books I couldn’t finish

Hi guys! It’s time for another post. This time I thought I’d talk about some of the books I couldn’t bring myself to finish. At least books I couldn’t finish in the last year or so.

My number one disappointment this year was The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig. This book was so hyped and I really wanted to love it. I tried for months to read it but I just couldn’t get into it. I didn’t connect with the story or the characters. I loved the whole idea of using maps for time traveling and I thought that it would be an amazing read. But it just wasn’t and that really bummed me out. Maybe I’ll give it another go sometime in the future but when I DNF a book at 60% there’s something not right about it. I really hate having to DNF books.

A book I recently had to give up on was Denied (One Night #2) by Jodi Ellen Malpas. I really enjoyed the first book but I just couldn’t get into the second book. You guys know that I love me some alpha male and while I did love Miller in the first book he kinda just annoyed me in the second. I’m not sure at what point I DNF’d but it wasn’t as far in as TGFE. I do recommend this book series for those of you that might have been on the fence about Fifty Shades of Grey, Miller is kind of similar to Christian Grey but there’s no BDSM involved, at least not what I can recall. Definitely try it out!

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I know, I’m a horrible, horrible person. I’m on the goddamn street team for Christ’s sake. I haven’t technically given up on it though, it’s still “currently reading” on Goodreads. I’ll be giving it another go soon because as Windwitch gets closer the street team is getting busier. It’s not that I didn’t like the book, I really did, DO. But there’s something about the world building that makes it difficult to read. There’s so much information all the time. I love the characters and I love the concept and I love Sooz. Windwitch will be arriving here soon so I really need to get on this. I’m so sorry Truthwitch, you know I really love you.

There you have it, I hate myself for doing this, especially to my beloved Truthwitch. But life’s too short for bad books (not including Truthwitch here).

 

Hope you enjoyed this post, talk to you soon!

xx Kayla

Leave a Reply

